Target audience research analysis

 

suvery 1The first question was asking “how old are you”. The majority of the answers were in the bracket of 16 to 20 years old. This establishes my target audience and a short film about social media should be able to link with this demographic.

suvery 2

The next question on the survey was “what gender are you”. The most popular answer with 56% was male. I am going to use a male actor so hopefully the majority of my audience can link with the character and have a better understanding of the struggles he faces.

 

suvery 3

The third question on the survey was “What aspects about a psychological thriller is most effective”. The most popular answer was sound then followed by both editing and mise en scene. As my short film has no dialogue it makes it very important to have an impactful score with sound effects to meet my audiences needs as they feel sound is the most important factor when it comes to making a psychological thriller/ drama.

suvery 4

The fourth question on the survey was “Would a short film about social media addiction done in a dark style be effective to you”. 71% answered that they liked the idea of the short film which is an encouraging site as they are excited to see how the film turns out.

suvry 5

The next question on the survey was “Would you say you have an unhealthy attachment to social media”. The most popular answer was that people said they only went on social media when they were bored, however maybe my short film might change their mind about how much they use it.

suvery 6

The sixth question on the survey was “Based on the idea I have for the short film premise what would be the most effective narrative for a short film”. The majority answered linear which i was set on doing my short film in the style of.

 

suvery 7The seventh question was “Would a short film about social media done in the same dark style as a black mirror episode sound appealing to you”. Black mirror was one of my influences and its good to see my audience like the idea of my short film playing on aspects of black mirror.

suvery 8

The last question on my survey was an open question which was ” When you first think of a psychological thriller what aspect do you think of”. Above are some of the answers i received. The answer what mainly kept coming up was the way the film changes the way you think so this is the part i need to focus on with how my short film will change my audience’s mind set. 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment